Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.

Track Listing

Disc 1

Evolution (1969)
  1. Doctor Chop
  2. Buzzin’ With My Cousin
  3. Now I’m Together
  4. Dear Carolyn
  5. The Golden Boogie
  6. Humanoids
  7. I Kept Askin'
  8. Heard The Word
  9. Simple Song Of Spring
    Bonus Tracks More Live (Previously unreleased)
    Dallas Brooks Hall (September 1975)
  10. Don’t Let Go
  11. Until You Came Into My Life
  12. Carol
    Rock Isle Festival, Mulwala (April 1972)
  13. Hey George
  14. Carol
  15. Now I’m Together
  16. Mostly Likely You Go Your Way And I’ll Go Mine
  17. Hey, Hey, Hey
    Extra Track
    THE RECORD BANDITS – Single (1975)
  18. They’re Closing Down the Import Shops


On Digitally Remastered CD for the first time, Aztec presents a Classic Aussie Rock album brimming with superior and adventurous psych rock sounds. The legendary 1976 underground artefact from COMPANY CAINE – Doctor Chop is one of the last albums from the glory days of the Australian progressive psych scene to attain a new lease of life in the modern digital age.

Originally released in May 1976, the nine-track Doctor Chop LP now gets the remastered, expanded CD treatment with bonus tracks aplenty. With the addition of eight, previously unreleased live tracks – adding to the four tracks, recorded at Dallas Brooks Hall in 1975, that made up the original second side of the LP – it offers an effective insight into the live prowess of this once magnificent band. And for maximum impact there’s a surprise extra track, a genuine Company Caine rarity of great historical significance.

Alongside the likes of notable entities such as Spectrum, Kahvas Jute and Blackfeather, the name Company Caine continues to fire the imagination of progressive psych aficionados around the world. The original line-up issued the album milestone A Product of a Broken Reality in November 1971 (reissued on LP in 1975 and CD in 2015, Aztec AVSCD072) before breaking up in October 1972. Delightfully eccentric singer / song writer Gulliver Smith and nimble fingered guitarist / song writer Russell Smith decided to reform the band in 1975, and set about re-establishing Company Caine as an important name on the Melbourne scene.

The band recorded three tracks in the studio with producer Ross Wilson – ‘Doctor Chop’, ‘Buzzin’ With My Cousin’ and ‘The Golden Boogie’ – for a prospective single release which never eventuated. When combined with the previously unreleased, long versions of the 1972 single ‘Now I’m Together’ / ‘Dear Carolyn’ plus four live tracks from the group’s triumphant concert at the Dallas Brooks Hall in September 1975, the studio tracks headed up the Doctor Chop LP. The band broke up again before the LP appeared.

The bonus track portion of this CD comprises five previously unreleased live tracks from the Mulwala Festival (April 1972) and three more from the Dallas Brooks Hall concert. The material captures the band in full flight, bearing verification of their celebrated status. As a surprise extra track we’ve added the rare 1975 single by The Record Bandits, ‘They’re Closing Down The Import Shops’, a project headed by renowned import record shop impresarios Keith Glass and David ‘Dr. Pepper’ Pepperell that utilised Company Caine as (anonymous) studio backing musicians.

Package Contents

This deluxe CD version is packaged in a handsome 4 panel digi-pak. A genuine underground artefact given a new lease of life in the digital age. With 8 previously unreleased live tracks (5 from Mulwala 1972 and 3 from Dallas Brooks Hall 1975) and surprise extra track (The Record Bandits). Digitally remastered audio by Gil Matthews, it sounds better than ever, with a colour booklet, rare photos and liner notes by Ian McFarlane is a must-have for fans of Classic Aussie Rock.