Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.

Track Listing

      1. Boys Next Door
      2. One Of My Best Friends
      3. Leave It To Me
      4. Chelsea Kids
      5. Doe See Doe
      6. I Don't Wanna Go Home
      7. Filter Tip
      8. It's Alright
      9. GIve It Up
      10. Something Else

        Bonus Tracks (Singles 1979 & 1980):

      11. Chelsea Kids (A-Side Edit)
      12. I Wanna Be Your Man (B-Side)
      13. All Day And All Of The Night (B-SIde)

        Demos 1978:

      14. Boys Next Door
      15. Give It Up

        Demos 1979:

      16. I Wish
      17. One Of My Best Friends
      18. On The Wall

        Video 1979:

      19. Chelsea Kids 


Melbourne’s La Femme were a fascinating meld of late Seventies influences: punk, new wave, glam and hard rock. Their 1979 debut single Chelsea Kids is one of the all-time classic Australian singles and their only LP: La Femme, is arguably one of the best to come out Melbourne ’s late 1970’s punk/new wave scene (which included Models and The Boys Next Door). It contains many fine examples of the band’s confident, swaggering glam-infused punk-metal sound. Lead singer Chane Chane was a charismatic, hyperactive front man, a refreshing personality with a strong audience rapport. Guitarist Brett Walker was a real live flashy guitar hero for the times, coming on like a punk-metal Mick Ronson by pealing off large chunks of dense power riffing when other guitarists were still going plink-plonk. The thuggish rhythm section of Peter Kidd and Graham Schiavello played it mean and hard, providing the relentless, driving beat.

They toured constantly, built up a huge support base on the suburban pub circuit, scored several prestigious support gigs, made three appearances on Countdown (one of the first punk/new wave/alternative bands to do so), released one of the great Melbourne punk albums and yet they never rose above being a cult attraction. Our deluxe reissue has been digitally remastered from the original tapes.

Package Contents

Aztec Music’s deluxe reissue, digitally remastered by Gil Matthews, liner notes by Ian MacFarlane and a 24 page booklet with many rare photos.